Teacher Excellence Award

The Teacher Excellence Award is one of the highest honors given to Technology and Engineering Education classroom teachers and is presented in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the profession and their students. The Teacher Excellence Award provides public recognition on a local state level through TEEAP and is presented at the Annual TEEAP Conference. In addition, the recipients name and application materials are forwarded to ITEEA. The honoree is then also formally presented with an engraved plaque and other recognition at ITEEA's Annual Conference.

Year Recipient   Year Recipient

William J. Wilkinson

  1998-99 Wayne Dallas
1963-64 Elmer J. Hemberger   1999-00 Michael Amrhein
1964-65 William C. Bohn   2000-01 Ed Frescoln
1965-66 Edward Kabakjian   2001-02 Kevin E. Stover
1966-67 Joseph L. Kennedy   2002-03 Mike Flowers
1967-68 Charles L. Schegel   2003-04 Kenneth Andrus
1968-69 Richard A. Long   2004-05 Rick Zilla
1969-70 Lambert K. Sailer   2005-06 Bill H. Hughes
1970-71 Paul A. Kube   2006-07 Jared Bitting (MS)
1971-72 William H. Skelly   2006-07 Mark Piotrowski (HS)
1972-73 Curtis W. Gable   2007-08 Ron Shealer (MS)
1973-74 John Fisher   2007-08 Mike Boyer (HS)
1974-75 Ralph Hamilton   2008-09 Sandy Cavanaugh (EL)
1975-76 Paul Matter   2008-09 Lauren Lapinski (MS)
1976-77 Francis Spickler   2008-09 Mike Choroneko (HS)
1977-78 Vergil Taylor   2009-10 Ed Hine (MS)
1978-79 Alan Klaich   2009-10 Steven Drake (HS)
1979-80 Bernard Singer   2010-11 Joanne Trombley (MS)
1980-81 Donald Hoffman   2010-11 John Hoch (HS)
1981-82 John Brown   2011-12 Jocelyn Long (EL)
1982-83 Kermit Lyman   2011-12 Tanner Huffman (MS)

Ronald Burns

  2011-12 Michael Voicheck (HS)
1984-85 Bruce Cook   2012-13 Jared Bitting (MS)
1985-86 Olan W. Sterback   2012-13 Hal Lafever (HS)
1986-87 Byron Race   2013-14 Todd Kennedy (MS)
1987-88 Dan Piesik   2013-14 Troy Alesi (HS)
1988-89 Lester C. Thayer   2014-15 Nicholas Crowther (EL)
1989-90 Thomas Ridge   2014-15 Jeffrey Seamans (MS)
1990-91 Gerry Davidheiser   2014-15 Scott Didra (HS)
1991-92 Eugene Cestrone   2015-16 John McDonald (MS)
1992-93 David Hortman   2015-16 Curt Reichwein (HS)
1993-94 Tim Vermillion   2016-17 Kari Bennett (EL)
1994-95 William Waddington   2016-17 Jeff Conner (MS)
1996-97 Charles Kirchner   2016-17 Kaylia Austin (HS)
1997-98 Terry Crissey      

The recipient of this award must be an ITEEA member when nominated and shall have maintained continuous membership for at least two years prior to nomination.They must also be a be a member of TEEAP when nominated and shall have maintained continuous membership for at least three years prior to nomination for the award.

The recipient should be selected on the basis of his or her demonstrated abilities in the classroom and should be perceived by peers and colleagues as a superior teacher. They should be committed to continuing professional development and contribute to the profession through on-going service.

In order to be considered, applicants must teach technology education (K-12) and spend at least 50% of his or her time as a classroom teacher and should complete the appropriate ITEEA Checklist and Evaluation form found below in Adobe PDF & Microsoft Word format:

Time Line for This Recognition

Nominations will be taken from the general membership. Those interested in making a nomination should contact the TEEAP Awards Chair to nominate the individual.

The nominees are verified as TEEAP and ITEEA members as required by the rules and each of the individuals nominated for the award are contacted. On or prior to October 13 the selection ballot with resumes and application materials will be made available to the selection board, and the selection process should be completed no later than October 20.

This award is not kept secret and the attendance of the recipient at the conference banquet must be assured.  The winner will be contacted as soon as the selection is complete. The recipient's chief school administrator or the administrator of choice will then be contacted to announce the award and obtain a commitment for public relations. A presentation is prepared for the annual banquet to accompany the presentation of the award.  A close friend or the person who made the nomination is asked to make the presentation.

The school district is encouraged to handle the public relations with their local newspapers. If the local district cannot handle this activity, please contact the TEEAP Public Relations chair either by phone, email, or use the Online PR Form.

Engineering by Design

Pennsylvania is a member state of the ITEEA's EbD Network. Schools across PA have free access to Engineering byDesign™ products. If you are interested in accessing it please contact Curtis Funkhouser, Curriculum & Instruction Consultant for STEM at the Lancaster-Lebanon Intermediate Unit 13 for details on how to access the materials!

2017 TEEAP STEM Conference

We are delighted to invite you to the 2017 TEEAP STEM Conference. Please consider being a part of this outstanding event as a presenter, exhibitor, or just take part by attending — be a part of the STEM movement! You can visit our Conference page by clicking HERE to learn a little about the conference and some ways to get involved in our 2017 conference!

Join TEEAP's Online Network

Join TEEAP online networking services to stay on top of news, information, and opportunities. TEEAP can currently be found on:

ITEEA in Atlanta, Georgia in 2018

The ITEEA's 80th Annual Conference will be held In Atlanta, Georgia! This year's theme will be "Building Bridges Within The STEM Community and Beyond." Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) is very much a “buzzword” on today’s educational landscape. Every teacher, school, district, and state has its own version of what STEM means as well as how to help students engage in experiences that will prepare them for the 21st Century. Technology and Engineering is the foundation for making these experiences meaningful through integrative STEM education. Building bridges helps everyone to understand the important role technology and engineering contributes to STEM education.  

This conference is an opportunity to recognize and honor the accomplishments of our colleagues and best-practice programs. Additionally, it provides professional development and networking opportunities, as well as opportunity to renew old friendships and create new friendships. For more information, click here.