Michael Whitman Memorial
Outstanding Service Award

This award is presented to current member TEEAP who is not only a member at the time of nomination but has also maintained continuous membership for at least three years prior to nomination. The recipient must also be a member of a local technology education organization if one exists.

The chosen recipient must be involved in the Technology & Engineering Education profession as a classroom teacher, supervisor, administrator or teacher educator. The recipient must be perceived by his or her peers and colleagues as performing daily duties in an excellent or superior manner. They must have demonstrated consistent professional interest and leadership during the previous three years. and have been involved in special activities and made significant contributions to technology and engineering education within the past year. Finally, this award may not may not be presented to the retiring president.

Year Recipient   Year Recipient
1956 J. Philip Young   1987 Kermit Lyman
1957 William J. Wilkinson   1988 William Kabakjian
1958 Anthony T. Stavaski   1989 Charles Graham
1959 Burle N. Osburn   1990 Phil Wynn
1960 Charles E. Williams   1991 Jim Jordan
1961 Cletus Maloney   1992 Thomas Ridge
1962 Shriver L. Coover   1993 Van Hughes
1963 Elmer J. Hemberger   1994 Kenneth P. DeLucca
1964 Rufus C. Johnson   1995 Robert Bateman
1965 Norman C. Pendered   1996 Stanley Komacek
1966 Joseph L. Kennedy   1997 Dave Shultz
1967 Earl M. Weber   1998 William Stahlnecker
1968 George Ditlow   1999 Gary Baltozer
1969 Lambert K. Sailer   2000 Robert Dorn
1970 Curtis W. Gable   2001 Perry Gemmill
1971 Richard A. Long   2002 Mike Kozuchowsky
1972 Paul A. Kube   2003 Bill Weitzmann
1973 John Swearingen   2004 Michael Whitman
1974 Nevin Andre   2005 William Michael
1975 William Skelly   2006 Ed Frescoln
1976 Olan W. Sterback   2007 Richard Penepacker
1977 Gary L. Bowman   2008 Judith Hawthorn
1978 John Fecik   2009 William Bertrand
1979 Ed Rogowicz   2010 Jared Bitting
1980 Earl R. Zimmerman   2011 Stan Komacek
1981 John Stoudt   2012 Jonathan Taylor
1982 Thomas Winters   2013 Len Litowitz
1983 Charles Knowlden   2014 Jeffrey Seamans
1984 Lewis W. Miller   2015 Dr. Joe McCade
1985 Lester C. Thayer   2016 Dave Shultz
1986 John Brown      

Time Line for This Recognition

To begin the process, a nomination request will be sent to the selection board consisting of members of the TEEAP Executive & Administrative Board. It is expected that this selection process should be completed by no later than October 20 of each year.

This award is to be kept secret until it is presented at the annual conference banquet, but the attendance of the recipient at the conference banquet must be assured. A presentation is prepared or a close friend or the person who made the nomination who will be asked to make the presentation.

Immediately following the conference, the chief school administrator or the administrator of choice is contacted by telephone to announce the award. The school district is encouraged to handle the public relations with their local newspapers. If the local district cannot handle this activity, please contact the TEEAP Public Relations chair either by phone, email, or use the Online PR Form.


Engineering by Design

Pennsylvania is a member state of the ITEEA's EbD Network. Schools across PA have free access to Engineering byDesign™ products. If you are interested in accessing it please contact Curtis Funkhouser, Curriculum & Instruction Consultant for STEM at the Lancaster-Lebanon Intermediate Unit 13 for details on how to access the materials!

2017 TEEAP STEM Conference

We are delighted to invite you to the 2017 TEEAP STEM Conference. Please consider being a part of this outstanding event as a presenter, exhibitor, or just take part by attending — be a part of the STEM movement! You can visit our Conference page by clicking HERE to learn a little about the conference and some ways to get involved in our 2017 conference!

Join TEEAP's Online Network

Join TEEAP online networking services to stay on top of news, information, and opportunities. TEEAP can currently be found on:

ITEEA in Atlanta, Georgia in 2018

The ITEEA's 80th Annual Conference will be held In Atlanta, Georgia! This year's theme will be "Building Bridges Within The STEM Community and Beyond." Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) is very much a “buzzword” on today’s educational landscape. Every teacher, school, district, and state has its own version of what STEM means as well as how to help students engage in experiences that will prepare them for the 21st Century. Technology and Engineering is the foundation for making these experiences meaningful through integrative STEM education. Building bridges helps everyone to understand the important role technology and engineering contributes to STEM education.  

This conference is an opportunity to recognize and honor the accomplishments of our colleagues and best-practice programs. Additionally, it provides professional development and networking opportunities, as well as opportunity to renew old friendships and create new friendships. For more information, click here.